A Bucket List for 40

I turn 40 September 9th. I can’t believe those words are coming out of my mouth. I know I am certainly not the first one to create a bucket list about the big 4-0, but I thought it would be fun to see what things I can achieve within the year I am 40. So here it is, my 40 for 40 in no particular order!

40 for 40

  • Do 40 acts of kindness in the two months leading up to the big day
  • Surf my first real wave
  • Get an article into a big parent mag like Family Fun or Parenting
  • Sleep a night not under the same roof as Emma… Yes, you read that right. I have never slept a night away from her
  • Take some photos of the Milky Way
  • Learn to really change a flat tire on my bike
  • Hand out/donate a 100 dollar bill to someone in need
  • Finally go on a honeymoon with AJ
  • Use power tools to build something
  • Learn to cut our monthly grocery bill in half
  • Visit the Grand Canyon
  • Climb a 14er- yep lived in Colorado for how long and never have done it
  • Quit a bad habit- I think this should be drinking soda once and for all
  • Forgive the people that have hurt me in the past
  • See the glaciers in Alaska
  • Find ways to be grateful everyday
  • Mash my own grapes to make wine
  • Make fresh pasta
  • Write a note to each of my parents thanking them for the many things they have given me/ taught me
  • Have consistent child/parent market writing assignments
  • Revisit something I used to love to do but don’t do anymore
  • Dip my toes in the Atlantic and Pacific oceans in the same year
  • Watch the leaves change colors on the East Coast
  • Make ice cream from scratch
  • Read a new book every month
  • See the Northern Lights
  • Host a backyard movie night
  • Ride a horse on the beach
  • Send a message in a bottle
  • Pay for a strangers groceries
  • Visit a lighthouse
  • Run a trail half marathon
  • Take a road trip in a Vanagon
  • Plant an apple tree and grow my own apples
  • Participate on a run relay team like Ragnar
  • Volunteer for the Red Cross or other aid organization
  • Have three-four tech free days per month
  • Learn to live more simply by buying less
  • Send a handwritten card/note to someone at least once a week
  • Make a perfect replica of the Marachino coffee drink I had in Rome, Italy

Who wants to join me for some of these?

One Comment on “A Bucket List for 40

The Adventures of a Day Hiker

My stories and photos from the National Parks (and more)